Radford Lecture


Since 1978 one of the plenary lectures given at each AARE annual conference has been designated the Radford Lecture, as a memorial to the late, distinguished educationist Dr William (Bill) Radford.

Each year's Lecturer is a distinguished figure in an area relevant to educational research, who is especially invited by the Association to give the Lecture. Each year, the conference makes a presentation to the Radford Lecturer, and since 1984 the Lecture has been subsequently published in The Australian Educational Researcher (links accessed through member log in).


AARE Office

Previous awardees


AARE President Prof Julie Mcleod Presenting the Radford Lecture Award to Professor Mary Lou Rasmussen ANU

Professor Mary Lou Rasmussen Australian National University

Queer Public Pedagogies: Educating the Nation about Gender, Sex and Sexualities.


Distinguished Prof Susan Danby delivering the 2022 Radford Lecture

Professor Susan Danby Queensland University of Technology

The promise of digital technologies: Researching Children's ways of living with others in a digital age.

Show all awardees »